Kartikeya Ganesan of Viluppuram will get Prof. Yashwantrao Kelkar Youth Award-2021

New Delhi. Pvt. The selection committee for Yashwantrao Kelkar Yuva Puraskar-2021 has approved the name of Karthikeyan Ganesan, resident of Villupuram (Tamil Nadu). He has worked to provide opportunities to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities to live, learn, work and generate income.He has provided an opportunity to the Divyangjans to reach their full potential of self development through organic farming and adult independent living training. He will be rewarded in the 67th National Convention of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad to be held in Jabalpur.

Karthikeyan Ganesan, a native of Villupuram (Tamil Nadu), came to know while working in an orphanage that there are 1.6 million people with intellectual and developmental disabilities in India (Census 2011). Out of which about 75% live in rural areas. With low employment rates and high living expenses, they are one of the poorest groups in India. Karthikeyan took the resolution to change this pathetic situation and Srishti Foundation was born.

In the year 2013, Karthikeyan bought 10 acres of land to form Srishti Village Foundation. At that time, the land was barren and barren. Since then, the tireless work of the community members has turned the present day fertile land which is the center of many eco-friendly projects managed by people of diverse abilities. Karthikeyan has created an inclusive and holistic environment on 10 acres of land called Srishti Gaon.

Srishti Foundation runs three pioneering projects – Srishti Gaon, Srishti Vishesh Vidyalaya and Srishti Farm Academy. Along with this many community support and environmental projects are also run by Srishti. Through the Srishti Village community model, individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities learn adult independent living skills and job skills in an experiential manner. It helps them to lead an independent life in the mainstream society.

This award was constituted in the year 1991 in the name of Prof. Yashwantrao Kelkar, he architect of the organization and who is remembered for his role in organization expansion. This award is a joint initiative of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad and Vidyarthi Nidhi Nyas, which is committed to work for the betterment of students and in the field of education.

The purpose of the award is to encourage the work of young social entrepreneurs and to express gratitude to the youth for such social entrepreneurs and to inspire young Indians for service work. The award consists of an amount of ₹ 1,00,000/-, certificate and memento.

ABVP’s National President Prof. Chhaganbhai Patel and General Secretary Nidhi Tripathi congratulated the award winners and wished them success in their cause.

Back to top button